5/28/13 at Fenway Park

On Tuesday the 28th, we headed to Fenway Park to watch the Phillies play the Boston Red Sox.

On the way to the Arlington Station, we got lost so we were looking for someone to help me with directions. On the way, we passed the Red Sox mascot, Wally the Green Monster outside of a Lux, Bond & Green.

IMG_5848

We took the Green Line from Arlington to Kenmore and as soon as we got to Kenmore, there was a sign pointing towards Fenway.

IMG_5851

Upon exiting the station, the world famous Citgo sign was visable, meaning Fenway wasn’t too far away.

IMG_5853

This was one of my first views of “America’s Most Beloved Ballpark”

IMG_5859

We walked past the Ted Williams statue.

IMG_5860

And the other statue, “Teammates”

IMG_5864

For lunch, we headed to the Bleacher Bar and watched the Phillies pitchers warm up.

IMG_5874

For lunch, I had the cheeseburger sliders.

IMG_5881

After lunch, we went to gate C and waited for the gates to open.

IMG_5890

The security worker gave me a “Welcome to Boston” gift consisting of a souveneir baseball and a pack of cards.

IMG_5889

The gates open up at 5:40 but my Red Sox Nation membership allowed me to enter at 4:40, an hour early. They set the turnstiles up and I was ready to run.

IMG_5892

I headed to right field.

IMG_5894

The first fifteen minutes were uneventful and I got no baseballs. Somebody hit a long homerun 15 rows deep into the right field bleachers. Nobody knew where it was and a frantic search broke out. Ultimately, I was the first to find the baseball and I picked it up for baseball # 1.

IMG_5895

I headed to center field…

IMG_5896

and got nothing.

Then, I went to the Green Monster when the Phillies pitchers came out and…

IMG_5897

and got nothing.

However, when I went to the right field corner, a Phillie hit one into the equiptment tunnel in center field. Humberto Quintero, a Phillies catcher went into the tunnel, picked up the ball and flipped it up to me after I asked for it in Spanish.

IMG_5898

Kyle Kendrick and Cole Hamels were shagging balls in center field.

IMG_5899

And the first baseball hit in their direction was flipped up to me by Hamels.

IMG_5900

A couple of minutes later, Ben Revere flipped me up my fourth ball of the game from the same area.

IMG_5901

I went to the right field corner hoping to get a ball rolling down the line.

IMG_5902

Every ball that went in my area was either scooped up by someone else or tossed to other fans by Justin DeFratus.

I went over to the Red Sox bullpen and noticed two baseballs laying down.

IMG_5906

A Red Sox coach, Dana Lavange flipped me up one of the balls.

IMG_5907

Keep reading beyond the ballhawking stats for some pictures!

BALLHAWKING STATS

42  Baseballs caught in 2013 (214 overall)

5 at this game

7 Games

6 Balls Per Game Average

AUTOGRAPHS

None today

7 this season- Brett Krill, JR Murphy, Rob Segedin, Jesus Tiamo, Blaine Beatty, Kyle Hudson, Chris Petrini

IMG_6018

Attached below is an album of pictures that I took after batting practice:

IMG_5914 IMG_5916 IMG_5922 IMG_5925 IMG_5936 IMG_5947 IMG_5948 IMG_5961 IMG_5971 IMG_5976

One comment

Leave a comment